How Sweet It Is ~ Review and Interview with Dylan Newton

5 Sugar-coated Stars for How Sweet It Is

In this post, I have a real treat for you, an interview with one of my favorite authors, Dylan Newton. She recently released a new book, How Sweet It Is, and it is fantastic! Read on for my review and the interview.

Here’s the blurb for How Sweet It Is:

What happens when the queen of romance falls for the king of horror–you get “a hilarious rom-com comp,” perfect for fans of Beach Read. (Kirkus, starred review)

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a bestselling horror writer’s book launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets—or rather, accidentally maims—the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He’s really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction—one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone . . . including themselves.

“Fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne, Red, White and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert, and Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur will adore How Sweet It Is!” –The Nerd Daily

As featured in:
PopSugar: Must-Read July Books
PopSugar: 12 Swoonworthy Romances to Read in One Sitting

Here’s my review:

In romance it’s all about the characters!

How Sweet It Is centers on the charming and memorable Kate Sweet, a buttoned-up, spreadsheet toting wedding planner with a reputation for perfection, and Drake Matthews, the Knight of Nightmares, a renowned horror writer.

Kate loves sugar, sprinkles, sweet treats and Happily Ever Afters. Drake? Not so much.

While he pens his shivery stories in a mausoleum of a mansion, a family home he occupies but can’t really call his own, she flits from town to town, creating the “Awww moments” that seal the deal for her expertly planned weddings.

When Kate oversees the next book launch for the Knight of Nightmares, things go terribly wrong. Stabbing stilettoes, creepy crypts, harrowing hijinks, and more seem to doom the launch and the couple’s relationship from the beginning.

How will Kate create an unforgettable event for Drake? Will he learn to trust again after all the betrayals from previous girlfriends? 

I loved this book from beginning to end! The characters are realistic and loveable; the juxtaposition of romance and horror is fascinating; and the plot is fast-paced and fun.

You don’t want to miss this deliciously adorable rom com.  

Here’s the Amazon link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08MZV7FFN/ref=dbs_a_def_rwt_hsch_vapi_tkin_p1_i0

And here’s the interview:

Tell us about How Sweet It Is. What’s the genre, premise, and setting? Who are the main characters?

Dylan: First, I’m so happy to be a guest in your newsletter—thank you so much for having me! How Sweet It Is is my debut romantic comedy set in a small town in Upstate New York. It features Kate Sweet, an event planner known as the Queen of Happily Ever Afters for her glittery, fairy-tale like weddings, who is conscripted by her BFF to help plan a book launch for a writer. It isn’t until she agrees that Kate discovers the writer is non other than Drake Matthews, who is called the Knight of Nightmares for his terrifying horror novels. What nobody knows is Drake is tired of his genre and eager to venture into something completely new…if only he dared! Chaos and hijinks ensue as the two battle their preconceived notions as the Queen of Happily Ever Afters and the Knight of Nightmares venture outside of their comfort zones.

How Sweet It Is diverges from your previous paranormal romances. Though the genre is contemporary romance, it’s unique in that the hero is a best-selling horror writer. Are there some paranormal elements in How Sweet It is? Do you think there is a connection between paranormal romance and horror?

Dylan: Yes, I think there’s a connection between paranormal and horror, as both elements exist and are amplified by our imaginations. In the book, while there are no true paranormal or horror moments…one scene does take place in a mausoleum and this tends to be among the favorite scenes, according to many readers’ reviews!

Tell us a little about your childhood and background. How did that influence your decision to become a writer?

Dylan: I started writing in middle school for two reasons: I couldn’t find books I wanted to read, and none of the YA books had heroines like me—imperfect and from an imperfect family situation. So, I decided to write my own books and found I could lose myself for hours in a world of my own making and that feeling—of drowning out reality in lieu of my imagination—is the reason I love writing today. None of those middle school novels have ever seen the light of day, by the way, but that’s how I got hooked on the joys of writing.

Do you think people are ever too young or too old to write?

Dylan: No—whatever age you are is the perfect time to write a book! I wrote several books, but my first published book wasn’t until I was 40 years old, and I was 50 when I got this contract from Forever/Grand Central Publishing/Hachette which put my books in every bookstore. Perseverance and tenacity are what you need to write books—your age is irrelevant.

How many books have you written?

Dylan: I have 3 books, 1 novella, and 2 short story collections published, and several other books written that have not yet been published. My contract with Forever Books/GCP is for 3 romantic comedies, so while How Sweet It Is has been released, book 2 is in edits and I’m finishing up book 3 right now for my publisher. I’m also working on a new YA project for my agent—stay tuned on that one!

How does your family feel about you being an author?

Dylan: My family is and has always been my rock in this process. Writing is a lonely journey and without someone cheerleading for you in the background, it’s really easy to give up on your publishing dreams. My husband and daughters are my biggest fans—they pick me up when I’m down, celebrate with me when I’ve got a win, and don’t complain about peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for dinner when I’m on deadline!

What are your favorite ways of connecting with your readers? Social media?

Dylan: I have a VIP newsletter that I use primarily as a way of gifting things to my readers, and you can join by going to my website at www.dylannewton.com

I’m also active on my author page on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Dylan… 

and my author page on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/auth… most frequently,

but you can also find me pinning pictures of my next heroes and heroines on Pinterest here www.pinterest.com/dylannewton1

About Dylan Newton:

Author Dylan Newton was born and raised in a small town where the library was her favorite hang-out. After over a decade working in corporate America, Dylan quit to pursue her passion: writing books. When she isn’t writing her next romantic comedy, Dylan is pursuing her own happily ever after with her high school sweetheart as they split time between Florida and Upstate New York with their two much cooler daughters and a tone-deaf cockatiel.

Visit Dylan at http://www.DylanNewton.com or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/DylanNewtonAuthor